Navratri colours 2022: Know the festival’s colour for each day

The purpose of the Navratri festival is to honour the goddess Durga and to appreciate colour. Here is everything you need to know about the nine Navratri colours, from white to pink.

One of India’s most cherished holidays, Navratri, has arrived. It is regarded as the beginning of the Hindu New Year in India and is celebrated there with tremendous fervour. It is devoted to the nine various divine manifestations of the goddess Durga, also known as Nav Durga. As a result, Navratri is a nine-day celebration that honours a different Maa Durga manifestation each day. The festival has a particular colour for each day that can be worn.

These hues hold great significance and are seen as lucky. The nine days of Navratri are revered as the most powerful and auspicious times for worship in Hinduism, and they are held in the greatest regard. Here is everything you need to know about the nine Navratri days and their symbolic colours.

Navratri Day 1 : White

Day one of Navratri starts with white colour which symbolises peace and serenity. Maa Shailapuri is worshipped on this day. She is among one of the forms of Goddess Durga. The Goddess is dressed in White attire on the first day.

Navratri Day 2 : Red

Red is the colour for the second day. It symbolises passion and love and is also the most preferred color of Chunri that is offered to Goddess. Maa Brahmacharini is worshipped on this day. This colour fills the person with vigour and vitality.

Navratri Day 3: Royal Blue

On the third day of Navratri, wear Royal Blue to enjoy the festivities with unmatched elegance and grace. Richness and serenity are symbolised by the bright shade of blue known as royal blue. Maa Chandraghanta, the goddess, is worshipped on this day.

Navratri Day 4: Yellow

The fourth day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Maa Kushmanda. It is the day of Chaturthi and yellow is the colour of the day. It is the colour to celebrate the joy and enthusiasm of Navaratri and the warm colour that keeps the person cheerful all day.

Navratri Day 5 : Green

Green is the colour of day fifth. It symbolises nature and evokes a sense of growth, fertility, peace and serenity. Goddess Skandmata is worshipped on this day. Green also represents new beginnings in life.

Navratri Day 6 : Grey

The colours of the sixth day is grey and Goddess Katyayani is worshipped on this day. Grey colour represents balanced emotions and keeps the person down-to-earth.

Navratri Day 7 : Orange

On this day worship goddess Kalratri wearing orange colour. The colour represents warmth and exuberance and is full of positive energy.

Navratri Day 8 : Peacock green

It is the day of Goddess Mahagauri and peacock green is the colour of the day. The colour implies uniqueness and individuality. It is a colour of compassion and freshness.

Navratri Day 9 : Pink

Wear pink on the last day of navratri celebration and worship goddess Siddhidatri. Pink symbolizes universal kindness, affection and harmony. It is a subtle shade of tenderness that promises unconditional love and nurturing.